This post is also available in: English (İngilizce)
Criteria for Halal Category
The Halal status is given to a food product on the following basis:
- The food product is made from only pure Halal ingredients with Halal processing aid or hidden ingredients, and Halal packaging.
- The Halal food product is NOT madewith:
- pork, pork-by-products (bacon, ham, lard, pig enzymes etc.),
- alcohol or ingredients processed with alcohol (alcohol as a hidden ingredient).
- any other non-zabiha meat-by-products (unless chemically converted into another substance completely),
- any other haram / mushbooh ingredients (such as those listed below).
Not Considered Halal
The following food products are included in this category:
- The products, which are kosher certified and bear kosher symbol but do not meet the Islamic dietary requirements; such as:
- The food products that are made with pork-by-product ingredients (even if it bears the kosher symbol K).
- The food products that contain alcohol as an added ingredient or ingredients processed with alcohol (even if it bears the kosher symbol K).
- The food products that are made with kosher gelatin and bear the kosher symbol K but did not meet the Islamic dietary requirements (i.e pork gelatin).
- The Haram food products that are made with pork gelatin and bear the kosher symbol K.
- The products made with ingredients derived from non-zabiha meat byproducts (unless chemically converted into another substance completely).
- The products made from fat based ingredients without Halal or kosher certification and with no guarantee they meet the Islamic dietary requirements.
- The products that are made from natural and artificial flavors which are not Halal or Kosher certified with or without alcohol as a solvent.
- The products that are made with alcoholic fermentation and may contain 2-3 % alcohol such as naturally brewed soy sauce.
- The products that are made with human hair L- Cysteine with or without kosher certification.
- The products that are made with questionable ingredients and whose source are not verified as Halal.
- All machine slaughtered animals are considered as NOT HALAL by MCG.
Note: Not all Kosher certified food products are considered Halal because they are made with Haram ingredients such as listed below. If one of them present in kosher certified product then it is not considered Halal:
- Gelatin from pork and non zabiha cow
- Kosher Gelatin except fish gelatin
- L-Cysteine made from human hair or chicken or duck feathers
- Beer batter
- Rum flavor
Ethyl Alcohol as a main ingredient appears on the ingredient list
- Cochineal or Carmine, a red color from insects
- Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce
- Yeast Extract or Autolyzed Yeast made from brewer’s yeast, a byproduct of beer making
- Torula Yeast grown on alcohol
- Nucleotides are obtained from Torula yeast cells grown on alcohol, used in Infant Milk formulas to help babies build a good immune, digestive system and decreased incident of diarrhea.
- Vanilla Extract which contains minimum of 35% Alcohol
- Wine Vinegar because there will be leftover wine which is not converted to vinegar
- If ethyl alcohol is used as a solvent in natural or artificial flavors.
- Confectionary Glaze or Resinous Glaze made with Shellac which is dissolve in alcohol and then alcohol is evaporated
- Carrageenan, if ethyl alcohol or Isopropyl alcohol was used during processing for crystallization
- Natural Vanilla or Natural Vanilla Flavor(because Alcohol is used in its extraction).
Halal or Genuine Kosher certification was also used as criteria for assigning the Halal status for a food product, which meets the Islamic dietary requirements. The use of genuine Kosher certified food products as Halal is for temporary period only until the Halal symbol carrying food products are available in supermarkets throughout USA. According to Quran our good & pure foods are Halal for Ahlekitab and their good and pure foods are Halal for us. However, not all Kosher certified food products are Halal. The only ones that are Halal, are the ones that meet the Islamic dietary requirements.
Only hand slaughter Zabiha meat from Halal animals by a Muslim is used as a criteria for MCG definition of Zabiha meat. Machine slaughtering for zabiha meat is not acceptable according to our ulema.
HALAL IF NO ALCOHOL IS USED IN FLAVORS (MUSHBOOH):
The criteria for food products under this category is the same as the Halal category except the food products here are made with natural or artificial flavors. The natural and artificial flavors used in these food products may or may not contain alcohol as a solvent but these flavors are not made with animal derived ingredients and they are genuine kosher certified. It is beyond our scope to find each food product in this category, which may or may not be made with alcohol containing flavors. We request our brothers and sisters to call food manufacturers to find out about alcohol in flavors. Ask them whether alcohol was used as a solvent in flavors. The alcohol is a hidden ingredient in flavor.
The food companies do not have to mention alcohol in ingredients statement according to FDA food regulations. Some Islamic scholars would not consider a food product Halal if alcohol or if flavor in which alcohol was used as a solvent even if it was completely evaporated during processing. If alcohol is converted to another chemical then it would be Halal but chemically it will not happen.